Review: Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners


Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners
Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners by John Bunyan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you can get past ye Olde Englifh, you can find a fantastic similarity between Bunyan’s opinion of Christianity and contemporary thought (that is, before encountering grace). I related to much of what Bunyan encountered in his soul and in his mind. I continually found myself marveling at how not much has changed in 400 years about 1) what people think about Jesus and 2) how Jesus calls people home. It is very difficult to read because of the nature of the language, and at times the woe seemed hyperbolic. But the transparency and the theology are fantastic. “Grace Abounding…” is short enough to be worth the challenge.

View all my reviews

