The Vegetable of Wickedness


VEGETABLE OF WICKEDNESS

I regularly text out a Bible verse with a short devo question to my 7th, 8th, and 9th grade students.  The questions are always rhetorical and are simply designed to give the students something to think about.

But if you’ve ever worked with 7th, 8th, or 9th grade students, you know that abstract thinking is an ability that is not fully developed (and in a lot of cases, is just beginning).  So the other day, I was given the perfect reminder of the struggle between concrete and abstract thinking in this age group.  Here’s the text I sent:

The fruit of that righteousness will be peace; its effect will be quietness and confidence forever. (Isaiah 32:17 NIV)  So what does the opposite of that look like?  (To get you started, the opposite of righteousness is wickedness).

The intent for was for students to see how different the effects of righteousness and wickedness are.  Here’s a response I got from a girl going into 7th grade:

The vegetable of wickedness will be war; it’s effect will be rowdiness and sedateness forever?

The vegetable of wickedness.  I asked for the opposite and that’s exactly what I got.

