I Am The Song of the Drunkards


Song of the Drunkards

“Zeal for your house consumes me, and the insults of those who insult you fall on me.  When I weep and fast, I must endure scorn; when I put on sackcloth, people make sport of me.  Those who sit at the gate mock me, and I am the song of the drunkards.” Psalm 69:9-12

“I am the song of the drunkards.”  I don’t think this has ever been me.  My passion for the LORD has caused ripples and ostracism in other ways, but never so much so that a staggering drunk raises a mug to my “foolishness.”

“Leh me sing a lil diddy ’bout tha ****** church boy!”

My zeal for the LORD does keep some family at a conversational distance.  It has made people aware that they swore (golly!)  I have endured the blatant insults of Jesus, church, and religion.  But never the ballad of the inebriated.

I came close once in Illinois.  We were doing a worship set around a campfire and some college bros got loud(er) and vulgar with their guitar around their campfire.  Were they drunk?  Possibly.  Unlikely.

The funny thing about zeal is it is consuming.  Christianity always responds to persecution as kindling.  What’s meant for harm only stokes the embers of passion.

What some fear, though, is that the flame may burn someone, forgetting that it is also a source of light.

