Things We Do At Church Camp (That We Don’t Do At Church)


 

We just got back from spending a week in Denton, TX at StudentLIFE Mission Camp and it was phenomenal!  We had 5 of our students give their lives to Christ this week!!!  We were singing about revival and I’m convicted (and convinced) to be praying this over our youth ministry and over our city.  God likes to show up and answer that prayer!

It was so refreshing to see life change, too.  It’s hard to go week in and week out without seeing the Gospel bear fruit.  But I remember two verses in light of this:

Isaiah 55:10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
12 You will go out in joy
and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and hills
will burst into song before you,
and all the trees of the field
will clap their hands.

and…

Galatians 6:9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Yeah.  That just happened.

Also, when you’re at camp you get to see things that don’t happen that regularly at church.  For example:

  • you hear people clap after a prayer
  • you see people cheer for a well recited poem
  • you watch students rush the stage during worship
  • you see arms high and heart abandoned while you sing those same words
  • you see people talking to strangers
  • you don’t want to leave

Obviously this is tongue-in-cheek but not far from the truth, either.  Last week I watched our students serve 58 other churches in very small ways but with very large joy.  I never heard our students complain about heat or sleep or food.  I watched them soak in the words of the Gospel as a sponge.  And I watched as 5 stood up with courage and faith and gave their hearts to Christ.  This wasn’t re-dedication.  This was actual dedication.  And my prayer is that this sparks revival in our church and in our city.

If you want to see pictures from our trip, check out our facebook page.

