Cassandra George (Menges)


I grew up in Valley Center, KS.  Cassandra George (Menges) was in my 2nd grade class.  And I relentlessly bullied her.

She never did anything to deserve being in my crosshairs.  And I’m not proud of my fallen state that led me to pick on her.  She would get extremely emotional in class, frequently to the point of tears, and I would pounce on that, suggesting the rest of the class join me by saying “Let’s all cry with Cassie.”  Then I would “conduct” them in a cacophonous chorus.

This, of course, sent her over the edge again and again.  She would push back from her desk and storm out of the classroom screaming, “I HATE KIDS!”  To which I would reply, “But you are a kid, so you hate yourself, too!”  Neener neener neener…

This is sinful.  This is wicked.  This is atrocious.  This is the condition of a heart far from God.

As an 8 year old I had already accepted Jesus into my heart.  But love for my neighbor was like a cootie.

22 years later I understand the Gospel.  I have been forgiven by God through the blood of Jesus on the wrath-absorbing cross, but I can’t help but wonder where Cassie is now.  I hope to be able to apologize to her.  I hope to reconcile.  I hope to one day be able to show her that I’m not who I was.

I’ve tried facebook and Google and can’t find her.  So if anyone out there reading this has a lead, please let me know.  And if anyone out there reading this has bullied someone, make it right.  And if anyone out there reading this has been victimized by bullying, let me know so I can pray for you.

