Wrong Number? I’m Calling the Cops


Tulsa, OK – I have a group text app that I use on my phone to text all of my Mid-High students.  I’ll send them things like a verse-of-the-day, event reminders, random encouragement, etc.

We collected their numbers at the beginning of the school year (so, September?).  Yesterday, a student who I haven’t seen since the beginning of the school finally responded to a mass text I sent out.  I jumped into action and replied asking him by name how he was doing and if he knew what cell group he was in.  Then I got the following voicemail (transcripted here):

“Whoever has this phone you’re texting my 9-year-old daughter.  If you text the Scriptures, we didn’t mind, but now you’re just texting and talking and asking them what group they’re in and stuff like that; whoever had this number before does not have it anymore.  This is a 9-year-old girl.  And if you continue to message my child I’m gonna report you to the authorities.”

Of course, this made me laugh because it was the girl’s mother and it was the most non-threatening tone one could have.  But whatever happened to, “I’m sorry, you have the wrong number” and that’s the end of it?  When did it become “You have the wrong number…I’m calling the cops?”  What would you tell the cops?  We-just-got-this-new-number-and-someone-keeps-texting-bible-verses-to-it?  And what would the cops do?  Call DHS and confiscate my phone, forcing me to learn morse code?

I have daughters, so I get being protective.  But what do you think?

