Beset with Weakness


Hebrews 5:1-2

“For every high priest taken from among men is appointed on behalf of men in things pertaining to God, in order to offer both gifts and sacrifices for sins; he can deal gently with the ignorant and misguided, since he himself also is beset with weakness.”

If I were to try and convince a church why I’m such a great youth pastor, I’d never have a job.  Because on paper they see degrees I’ve acquired, percentage increases in programs and students, verbs pre-empting all the best things I’ve accomplished.  But the beauty of the Gospel is that I am beset with weakness.  I let families down.  I turn kids away.  I say one thing and mean another.  I’ve made my wife hate me.  I’ve made my parents lose their trust in me.  I’ve made my own children fear me.  And this is awesome!  Because being in the priesthood (the priesthood of believers) is not something I’ve earned.  It is something I’ve been given.  Being full-time in ministry is not something I will ever be qualified to do.  Only Jesus has ever fulfilled the priestly duties without sin.  I am a man beset with weakness.  I need atonement.  I have a Savior!

Check out these thoughts from my Bible study this morning:

“The priesthood (all of them) is not earned.  God appoints it.  Only Jesus shows us the real, working role of a high priest.  In v.2 we see a high priest “can deal gently with the ignorant and misguided.”  This is our condition in Christ or apart from Christ.  But our position is that Jesus is our high priest and does deal gently with us.  The high priest was also ‘beset with weakness’ that obligated him to offer sacrifices for sins.  Jesus was beset with manhood and never sinned.  He also didn’t glorify Himself (v. 5) although He rightfully could have.  The high priest made sacrifices for the people and for himself.  Jesus made one sacrifice to satisfy all.  God appointed Jesus to serve as high priest by 1) dealing gently with the ignorant and misguided, 2) offer sacrifice, and 3) ultimately becoming the source of eternal salvation.  Jesus perfectly fulfilled what was modeled in man.  He perfectly saved the privileged priest and the nobody from nowhere because all have sinned.  All are beset with weakness.”

