Home Farming & Disciple Making: Planting


“I planted the seed”

These are the words of Paul from 1 Corinthians 3:6.  In the previous post I talked about getting the ground ready for planting seeds.  In this post, I want to share how closely related Home Farming & Disciple Making are through the actual act of putting a seed in the ground.

At the beginning of the season, I planed Sugar Snap Peas, Zucchini, Broccoli, Banana Peppers, Bell Peppers, and Strawberries:

The thing about seed planting is that each type of plant requires its own space.  They need enough space between plants and enough space between rows in order to grow properly.  In the picture above, where I had just planted everything, it looks like I’m wasting a LOT of space.  But they need it, because as they get bigger, if they don’t have room to grow, they either don’t produce any fruit or they die.

So when Paul says, “I planted the seed,” the metaphor alludes to the calculated spacing of seeds, but also to Paul giving people space to grow, to question, to process.  Disciple Making requires different space for different people.  I have a lot of crops in my Home Farm, and the tricky part was making sure each had enough room. So when I put the seeds in the ground, I made sure the broccoli was 18″ apart.  The peas were 2″ apart.  The peppers were 24″ apart.  But then I just covered them with soil to secure the spot that I placed each seed.

We can have a plan for Disciple Making.  But our approach to people must be calculated based on the person, not on the formula.  Everyone is different.  Everyone’s response to the Gospel is different.  We must learn to give them room to encounter Jesus so they have a chance of growing and bearing fruit.

But it doesn’t stop at seed planting.  We’ll explore that next.

