Ruth is HOT


She is HARD-WORKING. Ruth 2.7 says:

“She asked permission.  ‘Let me glean,’ she said, ‘and gather among the sheaves following after your harvesters.’  She’s been at it steady ever since, from early morning until now, without so much as a break.”

Ruth 2.17: “Ruth gleaned in the field until evening.  When she threshed out what she had gathered, she ended up with nearly a full sack of barley [a 2-week supply; or 30-50 pounds]”

Remember: Rebekah was strong. So is Ruth.  Ruth does back-breaking work all day and carries away 50 pounds of grain.  Being hard-working is hot.  Because being frail and helpless is not something guys are drawn to.  In the Bible, women are called “weaker vessels” which is not the same as weak and helpless.  It literally means the difference between fine china and pottery.  Girls, you are the fine china, the weaker vessel.  You wouldn’t play football with a vase but you would with a brown paper lunch sack.

So work hard.  Know what you’re doing.  Don’t play dumb.  Because eventually what’s “cute” becomes cumbersome.  Ruth was hard-working and that’s hot.

 

She has an OUTSTANDING REPUTATION. Ruth 3.11 says:
“And now, my daughter, don’t be afraid. I will do for you all you ask. All my fellow townsmen know that you are a woman of noble character”. (NIV)

“And now, my daughter, do not fear. I will do for you all that you ask, for all my fellow townsmen know that you are a worthy woman (ESV)

Do you think other women gossiped about Ruth? Your reputation doesn’t depend on a gossip but how you live.

Ruth earned her reputation.  Live a noble life and the only ruined reputation will be the one of the person who gossips and lies.  The fact that Boaz not only watched Ruth earn her reputation, but he heard about her reputation too (3.11) means it’s pretty solid.  The entire town is talking about how awesome Ruth is.

 

She is TRUE TO HER WORD. In Ruth 1.16-17, Ruth tells Naomi:

“Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home.  Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live.  Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me GOD-not even death itself is going to come between us.”

This also shows up in 2.11: “Boaz answered her, ‘I’ve heard all about you-heard about the way you treated your mother-in-law after the death of her husband, and how you left your father and mother and the land of your birth and have come to live among a bunch of total strangers.”

Ruthhas a reputation of loyalty. And there seems to be an extra emphasis on her loyalty to family.

 

This didn’t fit the H.O.T. acrostic, but it’s still worth noting:

She is a family woman. Ruth 4.13-14 says:

“Boaz married Ruth.  She became his wife.  Boaz slept with her.  By God’s gracious gift she conceived and had a son.”

In short, she doesn’t cling to her adolescence into her 40s. She grows up.

 

How Do We Respond To This?

What the rest of the world thinks is “hot” becomes obsolete in a month.  Every time there’s an awards show someone or something else is hot.  What the Bible says is hot has been that way from the beginning.  Ruth was loyal, hard-working, and had a good reputation.  Ladies, this is who you want to be like.  Fellas, this who you want to pursue.

And when we look at Ruth’s story, we can close the book and say “That’s Hot.”

