Handprints


When I was a senior in high school I got the chance to start a summer children’s ministry at my church.  There was a 9 year old girl that came all the time, and unbeknownst to me, was impacted by it.  I only know this because she (now a high school senior herself) sent me a handwritten note.  This is awesome:

Sean,

You may not remember me but I am ___ and ___’s little sister.  I was a little girl when you were in our youth group at First Baptist Church Friendswood.  At the time, our youth group was small and not very many people went, but I must say, as a young kid I looked up to y’all.  As I watched the “older kids,” I knew that you had something I wanted.  You had passion, enthusiasm, and a love for our Lord that was so evident to all.  I asked my mom how I could have that same joy, and she introduced me to a personal relationship with Christ.  As I’ve grown up and keep pursuing Christ, I have started to share my testimony with others.  Now, its nothing earth shattering or anything but as I tell it time and time again, I realize what a big part you played in it through your actions.  I love to learn and have always looked up to others older than me.  You were a great example to me and I’m sure the other kids.  I will never forget going to “Big Fat Wednesday” as a kid.  It showed us that you cared for us, while showing us how to be servants of the Lord.  Anyways, I just wanted to tell you thank you for being that example.  You played a big part in my testimony, which has shaped me into the person I am today.  Thank you for leaving a hand print on my life!

You never know who you’ll impact.  And you’ll rarely know right away.  This is a testimony ten years in the making.  And this has taught me the immense value of faithfulness.

