THOSE people…


From the KRMG morning news blog, I found this audio clip of a woman who is A-N-G-R-Y about a tornado warning.  Listen to this before you read more after the jump (rated PG-13 for some language):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZJdhmsfbPg&feature=player_embedded


How small is her world? We can laugh at how ridiculous this rant is.  We can do a quick search on TV Guide to find that “Criminal Minds” actually airs on two separate stations at 8:00 on Fridays (and it’s on cbs.com the next day).  We can say “I’m glad my life isn’t that meaningless.”  We can even use this woman’s temperament to fuel our own self-esteem.

But does anyone out there think this woman is justified?  I doubt it.  Her countenance is saturated with selfishness and replete with everything that is ugly about the condition of the human heart.

So my question is, why is it so easy to justify our own rants?

Why can we be just as angry about a crying baby on a plane or in a restaurant?

Why can we be just as angry when the film reel at a movie theater doesn’t work right?  Or when our parents take away our phones?  Or when we call customer service?  Or when there’s only three cashiers on duty?  Or when the barista doesn’t mix our coffee just right?  Or when commuters don’t use their signal?  Or when our 8-year-old drops a fly ball?

Tornado-lady answered this at the end of her call when she says, “I don’t care about THOSE people.”

And unfortunately, that’s how we’re all wired.  We are a me-me-me-I-love-myself-I-put-my-picture-on-my-shelf kind of people.  Fortunately, however, Jesus came to redeem this.  And here’s a few parts of the Bible that talk about redeeming the selfish for the selfless:

Luke 9.23 Then he [Jesus] said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.

1 Corinthians 10.24 Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others.

2 Corinthians 5.14-15 For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. 15And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

Philippians 2.3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.

James 3.13-16 Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. 14But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. 15Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. 16For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.

(Sounds like an episode of Criminal Minds)

